If I were Jewish, I’d be pretty upset.

For the record, I am, but I guess it depends on whom you ask.

Shenanigans!From the Jerusalem Post:

“In an unprecedented decision, the High Rabbinical Court of Israel has called to invalidate all conversions performed since 1999 by Rabbi Haim Drukman, the head of the Conversion Authority.”

This has got to be the last straw.  The emperor has finally stepped out on the balcony in his new clothes, and he is flapping like Jeremy Segal in “Forgetting Sarah Marshall“.

Banning concerts and TV and vegetables is one thing, but claiming to revoke the Jewishness of thousands of people with the stroke of a pen only revokes the credibility of this body as a religious authority.

From the glass-half-full perspective, maybe Israel will start getting a little respect from other nations in the Middle East, now that its democracy has been hijacked by ridiculous fundamentalists.

Good commentary on this issue here and here.  I think this would qualify as a Shanda fur die Goyim, if they paid attention to such shenanigans.

You heard me.  I call shenanigans.

Bonus Question: If I’m not technically Jewish, according to standards of the High Rabbinic Court, is my disparagement of their foolishness to be considered anti-Semitic?

Leave a Reply

